v2.0, updated October 2, 2014
This document describes what information is kept by the Evergreen Mountain Bike Alliance website and how that information is used. We make a well intentioned effort to ensure that this statement is accurate and up-to-date. If you find that parts are unclear or do not seem to match the web site’s behavior, please contact us.
This document only applies to the main public website cwevergreenmtb.org. It does not apply to any sites we may link to, identified by other domain names, or to separate software tools installed at cwevergreenmtb.org for internal club functions.
This statement is getting ridiculously long, so here’s the summary for those who want only an overview: most personal information that we have about you is shown in your profile, and you can edit it there. You should assume that what you do on the website is not truly anonymous, certainly not to website administrators. Our website contains a history of all rides you’ve ever signed up for, but your name is not displayed to visitors who are not signed in as users. We do not store your credit card information; that info is seen only by PayPal. We may contact you with mountain biking-relevant information, and sometimes may allow other organizations like IMBA to do so, but we don’t sell or share email addresses otherwise.
What information we keep and don’t keep:
Personal info: Our website retains your name, email address, street address, phone number, and other information that’s in your profile, as well as any information you provided when signing up. We do not currently record your gender or other demographic information. Your password is recorded only in encrypted form. You may go to your profile at any time to edit your personal information.
Tracking activity: We record most actions performed on the website, like posting a ride, signing up for a ride, pledging support, and posting a ride report. We currently don’t throw away any information, so there’s still a record of all the rides you’ve signed up for in the past. Some actions on the website may appear anonymous, but you should assume that your user id is recorded in the database.
We use the ride signup data to produce pages with overall statistics (which areas are most visited) and individual rider stats (where do you go most and who do you ride with the most); your profile and your stats are available only to other supporters.
Calendar: When you sign up for a ride, your name will be visible on the calendar page to others who are logged in on the website. The ride leader will be able to email you, and everyone else who’s signed up may be able to see your email address when an email is sent out to participants.
Ride Reports: In the Trail Guide section of the website, all editing actions are fully tracked and can be reviewed by any visitor to the website. In this context, you are identified to other website users only by your chosen username.
Polls: When we run a user survey, your answers to the survey are recorded with a userid to prevent repeat submissions, but are treated as anonymous when answers and statistics are shown in reports. Only staff and select volunteers have direct access to the (anonymized) survey results.
Other tracking: We currently do not track how often you visit the website or what pages you look at. This may be recorded beyond our control by the hosting company in the web server logs. We do not make use of such information, other than to check how many daily/monthly visitors we are getting.
Cookies: When you log on to the site, we use persistent a cookie to track that you’re logged on to the site and to remember your userid. When you return to the site, you will be automatically signed in again based on the cookie that is stored on your machine. You can see whether you’re currently signed in by checking the text in the right-hand column of the front page; it’ll say “welcome back” if you are, and “why not sign in?” if you’re not.
Administrator access: A small number of our staff and volunteers have access to all information in the website database, no matter what privacy settings you chose. These people have access for business purposes only (tracking donations, working on the website, etc.) and are required to use the information only as necessary for official purposes.